RIP Lena Horne

(JUNE 30th, 1917 – MAY 9th, 2010)

I can’t even begin to explain how much of a loss this is because she was so significant. Lena Horne paved the way for black people in showbiz in America circa 1940’s. I admire her not just because of her beauty but because of her courage and the person she has made many become. Had it have not been for the likes of Lena Horne and many others, blacks may not have been able to be a part of Hollywood and so on. She was also an activist and played a role during the civil rights movement. She was a singer, actress and an all-round performer. She shall never be forgotten; NEVER!

LENA HORNE | “I GOT RHYTHM” ft. Q-Tip

SHE ONCE SAID :

I was unique in that I was a kind of black that white people could accept, I was their daydream. I had the worst kind of acceptance because it was never for how great I was or what I contributed. It was because of the way I looked.

Rest in Peace, Love and Light

X

Leave a Reply

